Morning Break

This morning I awoke to the sound of what seemed to be a heavy nothing, the sort of summer biting breath of absence. I went outside to sit on a lawn chair, smoke a cigarette, and drink Justin Lloyd’s English Breakfast Tea, a very genuine blend. I started reading Jenny Boully’s [one love affair] before I realized that the title was referencing the cover of the very book I had last night put down–Thomas Bernhard’s The Voice Imitator. I live and write for these sort of connections, for the slight push of one text into another until the new thing kicks out. It was a great way to start the day, especially since I am somehow in eighty degree weather while my family and friends speak of a fifteen below kick to the Mids. photo-101

Leave a Reply

